Every morning, I wake up, burn a little sage, look out the window and say a prayer, which always begins, “Great Mystery, thank you for another day.”

This morning, I wasn’t exactly feeling it. Yesterday was rough, and the rest of the week promises more of the same. More than anything, I wanted to crawl back under the covers and go back to sleep. But I looked at the sky and started my prayer anyway. After that first statement, no other words really volunteered themselves, so I spent some time watching the sky. It was the same sky that had stretched over me in New Mexico a year and a half ago, as I spent four long days alone in a canyon. Those days I had a different view of the world, a more immediate sense of relationship to it, a heightened awareness of its vibrancy and consciousness.

Looking at the sky this morning, I managed to find that awareness again, if only for a few moments. It’s not the kind of thing I can hold to all the time, but this morning, it did get me out of bed. 

