In his book on the King archetype in the masculine psyche, Robert Moore writes that mountains are masculine structures, their ascent towards the sky being form arising from formlessness, solid land from primordial ocean, structured thought moving towards the light of illumination. Perhaps it is no wonder, then, that I climb to high places when I need to find some clarity. I had thought it was the sacrifice of getting there, the loud everydayness of the mind quieted by the effort of climbing, and no doubt, it is that too. But just today I have another picture of that action, a way of bringing two halves of myself together, the masculine mountain and the self that knows it needs to climb feminine, intuitive. I picture the walking from the bottom to the top, an act of structuring, a labor of bringing something from the depths closer to the light.

